Foolish Promise

This is an old poem that I haven’t wanted to post till now. Just to reasure you all, I’m glad to say it’s an old feeling!  

Foolish Promise

I looked at you

And saw the world you created

With a perfect blue sky

Before the silent call of night

 

Every word spoken

Came from that which you desired

The thoughts I had risen

Always lingered down below

 

Now I look at you

And see your world closing in

The echoes of your past

Circling shadows at you feet

 

While in the empty room

Left abandoned and unwanted

The chair of which you sat

And read my every word

 

You showed me a place

Built on a foolish promise

And took it away

Without the courtesy of a goodbye

Leave a Reply

